RED

My recent trip to New York City was the most cultured and eye-opening experience of all my travels. I spent 10 action-packed days exploring art and culture all over the city.

To me, one of the most interesting things about being in a design program is learning about how art and design came about. The foundations of design seem very basic when we are presented with lectures upon lectures. I’ve never been bored; rather, I’ve been intrigued by what we can learn from the makers and shakers of art and design by digging into their brilliant minds.

After taking Sculpture, Design Explorations, and Art History: Public Art to Graffiti at Langara, I finally got to see my education. Lectures are excellent but nothing beats the personal experience. The best feeling is knowing that what I’m in school for is truly what I love. It’s pretty amazing when you walk by a piece and say “HEY! That’s IT!” and you start listing facts about it in your head.

This is the famous Red Cube by Isamu Noguchi. I made it a mission to head down to the Financial District to see it. Obviously, it was not hard to find. Based on its installation date and location, the stance of the cube certainly depicts the economical fragility in the world. Architecturally, it is phenomenal. Noguchi’s choice of angles creates a strong contrast against the stale straight edges of the surrounding buildings. The strongest contrast is the bright red. What attention it demands!

Did you know that it’s not actually a cube? It stands taller than it is wide!

At first glance, I assumed this was an Alexander Calder piece!

Mark di Suvero has a long list of abstract sculptures around the world. It was spectacular to see this massive 70′ high piece.

I have a love/hate relationship with abstract art because I find some things an eye-sore. To others, it’s gorgeous! But that is the beauty of art – it is subjective!

Robert Indiana has an exhibit at the Whitney Museum in NYC this fall – “Robert Indiana: Beyond Love”

There are many versions of LOVE around the world; Vancouver used to have one down Georgia St. but I don’t think it’s there anymore.

32 Campbell's Soup Cans by Andy Warhol

32 Campbell’s Soup Cans by Andy Warhol

Seeing these pieces in its true form made me appreciate the work even more.

And seeing the iconic Andy Warhol piece was just the cherry on top.

Leave a Reply

